Fri, May 31, 2013 - [LSU]
Athletic Season Concludes with Awards Banquet

Riverside, Calif. - Dr. Randal Wisby, president of La Sierra University, and Yami Bazan, Vice President for Student Affairs, joined approximately 180-200 guests for the Golden Eagles Athletics Awards Banquet, this past Wednesday evening.  Among the guests were student-athletes, family members, members of the Athletic Advisory board, athletic department staff, and La Sierra University board chair, Dr. Ricardo Graham.

The evening began with dinner and progressed to the awards portion of the program.  The first awards of the evening were in recognition of the coaches and athletic department staff that have been with the program for at least five years.  The program then progressed with each team awarding individuals from their respective teams in the following categories; Newcomer of the Year, Sportsmanship/Leadership Award, and Most Valuable Player.  Prior to each head coach announcing the recipients of the award, each team played a short slide show or video recapping their year. 


After each sport was done distributing their awards, the six Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athletes were recognized for their commitment and success in the classroom as well as on the field/court of play.  The final two awards of the evening were the Golden Eagles award.


The Golden Eagles award is awarded to one female and one male student-athlete who exemplify the mission of La Sierra University Athletics.  The two recipients of this year's award were Shelby Madigan (women's volleyball) and Roman Santiago (men's soccer). 

NOTE:  A full list of award recipients and photo gallery will follow soon.


Madigan is a senior exercise science major who recently completed her volleyball eligibility, but will return for her final year next season as a member of the women's basketball team.


Santiago is a junior criminal justice major.  He will return for his senior season with the Golden Eagles next fall.


The evening's festivities concluded with a year-end recap in pictures along with some parting words of encouragement and a challenge put forth by the Athletic Advisory board chair, Stan Morrison.  Morrison congratulated those who accepted his challenge of putting together a plan for greatness, in addition to those who actually have begun to execute their plan.  He concluded by challenging all the student-athletes to utilize their off-season wisely and return next year to be better. 


The awards banquet officially concludes the 2012-13 athletic season as the eyes and attention turn toward 2013-14.  The women's volleyball season opener is just around the corner, on August 29, at the La Sierra University Invitational.  The men's soccer team will get things started on the same day, on the road, at Vanguard University.




W. B-ball

M. B-ball



Newcomer of the Year

Ashley Baumgaertel

Kenneth Henry

Jasmine Ruidera

Anthony Bursey

Taylor Saenz-Griego

Michael Gonzalez

Sportsmanship/ Leadership Award

Chantal Washington

Dakota Shelton

Victoria Lowe

Joshua Zonker

Vanessa McGowen

Jake Magness


Lina Semaia

Roman Santiago

Natalia Hawthorne

Bennett Shaw

Aleena Bahling

Harrison Guiol

Mobile Home | Full Site