La Sierra NEWS
SAAC Leaders
SAAC Leaders
Wed, May. 30, 2012 - [LSU]

The 2011-2012 Athletic year has come to a close with the celebration of our Athletes and the incredible year La Sierra Athletics had in the community, the classroom, on the courts and fields, and on the National stage. 
The major highlights from this year were:
La Sierra Women's Volleyball team going to the NAIA National Tournament.
Men's Soccer posting their best ever record and traveling to the East Coast to play in the A.I.I. Tournament.
Men's Basketball team bringing home another PCAC Championship (their second in as many years), with Coach Derek Robbins being named PCAC Coach of the Year.
Over 150 people came out to celebrate the amazing athletes we are privileged to have here at La Sierra University.  The Student Athletic Advisory Committee was introduced and Nikki Cheong spoke about the goals of the group, stating that they wanted to bring about positive change in the Athletic Department and how we are viewed on campus and in the community.
We honored our first ever set of NAIA National Scholar Athletes.  Athletes who were recognized on the National level for their excellence on the court/field and in the classroom.
2011-12 NAIA National Scholar Athletes:
Aaron Snyder, Men's Basketball
Ashley Baumgaertel, Women's Basketball and Softball
Joshua Zonker, Men's Basketball
We also recognized our Top Freshman with Rookie of the Year Aw  ards:
Brittani Walker, Women's Basketball
Garrett Kiefer, Men's Basketball
Dean Curtis was honored as a cornerstone of our growing department.  She was acknowledged as a major part of the recent  growth and success of La Sierra Athletics.  She will be greatly missed.
Special thanks went out to Jessamine Martinez and Jesus Moreno who work continuously, behind the scenes, making sure the coaches and athletes are successful.  Our department would not be nearly as successful without the dedication of these two individuals.  
After each team was honored with a video presentation, introductions, and team awards, Athletic Director Javier Krumm and Associate Athletic Director Kip Shipley, presented the Golden Eagle awards.  This award is given to the top female and male athlete in the department.  They need to be a top player on their team, a leader on campus and in the community, and maintain good grades.
This years Golden Eagle Award Winners:
Women's Volleyball Player:  Samantha Arriaran
Men's Soccer Player:  Luis Escamilla

Shining Stars